Skip to main content

Bargaining Updates: ESA, Hydro One and Kinectrics Locals

March 23, 2021

The Society’s Electrical Safety Authority and Kinectrics Locals recently reached tentative collective agreements while the Hydro One Local began bargaining a new agreement with its employer.

Electrical Safety Authority Local

The Electrical Safety Authority Local reached a tentative agreement with their members’ employer on March 1, 2021. The ESA deal narrowly averted a work stoppage. Members voted to ratify the agreement on March 5. The three-year agreement includes across-the-board pay increases of 2.1%, 2.1% and 2.3%.

Just prior to reaching the tentative agreement, the employer tried to go directly to the members with a proposal that included steep concessions. Showing the power of solidarity, the members stuck together with their bargaining committee as 95% voted against the employer’s so-called final offer. With that overwhelming vote bolstering the union’s position, the bargaining committee was able to return to the negotiating table and reach a deal that both sides could accept.

The ESA Local bargaining team was led by Local Vice President (LVP) Rob Mitchell and included Trevor Tremblay, Kishan Vipul, Aisling O’Doherty and Labour Relations Staff Officer (LRSO) Kathryn Fox.

Kinectrics Local

The Kinectrics Local reached a tentative agreement on a new collective agreement on January 27, 2021. The agreement was ratified by Kinectrics Local members on March 19, 2021. Society members at Kinectrics secured a two-year deal with 2% pay increases in each year, and an additional 2% increase to the performance pay pot.

Hydro One Local

The Hydro One Local recently commenced negotiations to renew its collective agreement that expires on March 31, 2021. The local and the company exchanged their bargaining agendas on February 17 and began negotiations shortly after. The local’s agenda is based on members’ input through the collective bargaining survey that was conducted over the past year.

The Society’s bargaining team is comprised of Vicki Power (LVP), Tracy Miller (Unit Director), Jenny Qin (Unit Director), Joe Lesperance (LRSO) and Kathryn Fox (LRSO). Both sides have agreed to a media blackout at this time so updates will only address progress from a process perspective not the issues under discussion at the bargaining table. This approach can help to foster a more productive relationship at the bargaining table.


Discover More
Hydro One Local bargaining update

Hydro One Local bargaining update

The Society’s Hydro One Local is returning to...

Read more